GroupMe

GroupMe – one of my favorite apps, although it KILLS my phone battery, that is revolutionizing the way millenials connect with their friends. Back in the day, when I wanted a play date with my friend I would pick up my house phone, dial her number (which I knew by heart) and speak to her personally. Now, I send a message out to a group of people and our plans are set in a matter of seconds.

Honestly, I could barely tell you my sisters phone number, let alone individually dial the numbers of my friends in my group text. This embarrassing, but true confession is why people are concerned about millenials’ communication skills – and they have a right to be. I am not here to say that these tendencies are wrong, just different.  I fully believe that the ease of cell phones is perpetuating communication not hindering it.

It had never even dawned on me that other people aren’t on the GroupMe bandwagon. Naïve, I know, but I just assumed that is how EVERYONE our age communicates with their friends. When my group project suggested we make a GroupMe to communicate about the assignments throughout the semester, it never dawned on me that some of the members may not use GroupMe or even know what it was. I just assumed this app is a universal means of communication among college students. I was wrong. After many discussions we realized a group member of ours was removed from the group due to inactivity. It wasn’t her ignoring us, it was her not having the app. Have we really reached a point where it is just common assumption everyone uses group apps as their main source of communication or was that just an oversight?

I don’t think our heavily reliant use of GroupMe, or similar apps, will turn into a “problem,” it just changes the way that we expect to be reached. I am much more willing to open a message in GroupMe than read an email. Even though the two apps are side by side on my phone, GroupMe is just my go-to information source. Who cares if my friends are commenting on trivial things or sharing dumb links, its my way of “hanging out” with them in a virtual sense.

Leave a Reply

